We use cookies to help us deliver our online services. By using our website or by closing this message box, you agree to our use of cookies as described in our Cookie policy.

Where is Marshall Islands?

Where is Marshall Islands? Rising from the Pacific Ocean near the equator and located slightly west of the International Date Line, the Republic of Marshall Islands is an island country forming part of the larger Micronesia. Comprising of 29 coral atolls and 1,156 individual islets and islands, the territories share maritime boundaries with four other regions. These include the Wake Islands in the north, Nauru to the south, the Federated States of Micronesia in the west, and Kiribati to the southeast. In a phrase, it is halfway between Australia and Hawaii.

The atolls and islands of Marshall Islands, historically known as "Jolet Jen Anij" (Gifts from God) by its earliest inhabitants, are divided into two distinct groups: the Ralik (sunset) and the Ratak (sunrise), and are home to some of the most scenic places to visit in Marshall Islands. Where is Marshall Islands in history? The islands derive their name from a British explorer, John Marshall, who explored them during 1788. However, the colonization of the islands by Micronesian colonists dates back to the second millennium BC but was fully explored by the Europeans during the early 1500s, recognizing them first as part of the Spanish East Indies in 1874.

The islands later became part of the German New Guinea in 1885 after being sold to the German Empire in 1884 and were finally conquered by the US during World War II. They achieved independence in 1986. The Marshall Islands offer an exotic experience for any tourist willing to take the journey. Some of the best places to visit in Marshall Islands include:

Arno Atoll
Comprising of 133 islands in the Pacific Ocean and covering a land of nearly five square kilometers, the Arno atoll encloses three stunning lagoons and is one of the most stunning places to visit in Marshall Islands.

The Maloelap Atoll
Covering an area of 9.8 square kilometers and home to a beautiful lagoon, the Maloelap Atoll is formed of 71 islands. Primary sites to visit include the two large islands of Taroa and Kaben where natural beauty is abundant. Additionally, Jang, Airuk, and Wolot are three other islands inhabited by humans.

Ebeye Island
The center and pivot of the Marshallese culture, Ebeye Island is one of the most populous regions in the country and allows you to enjoy a wonderful, enthusiastic and laid-back life in the region, made possible primarily because nearly half the population is of teenagers.